Print Friendly

Awards, Programs, Funds & Scholarships

The awards, programs, funds and scholarships of the Association are designed to assist teachers with their personal, professional and informational needs. Below are links to the Association’s Awards and Professional Development programs as well as links to a list of the previous Award Winners, Honorary Members and Medal and Scholarship winners of the NLTA. For more information on these awards and programs check NLTA’s Policy Handbook.

Allan Bishop Award
Bancroft Award
Barnes Award
• President’s Award —  This award is presented to one person whom the President feels is a strong supporter of the Association during the President’s term of office.
• Patricia Cowan Award for Support and Promotion of Education —  This award recognizes individuals or groups for their support and promotion of education.
NLTA Special Recognition AwardFor submission, nominations must be approved at a general branch meeting.

• Centennial Fund Programs
aaStudy Award (fill out online) or (pdf version)
aaEducational Research Program
aaInternational Conference Presenter
aa - International Programs
Professional Development Fund
Teachers Talking To Teachers Program Application
Johnson Incorporated Bursaries Application DEADLINE: April 1 (awarded to teachers in full time attendance at university)

NLTA Scholarship Application  (awarded to dependents of active, retired, disabled or deceased teachers)
• NLTA Medal (awarded to MUN Faculty of Education student)
• NLTA Scholarship (awarded to MUN Faculty of Education student)
Ella Manuel Award Scholarship DEADLINE: April 15