NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR TEACHERS, ASSOCIATION RELEASE

For Immediate Release April 8, 2021

2021-23 NLTA EXECUTIVE ELECTED AT BGM

St. John's, NL ... The members of the NLTA Provincial Executive Council were elected on Thursday, April 8, 2021 at the NLTA Biennial General Meeting.

The newly elected Executive for 2021-23 include: **Derrick Baker**, Belleoram-Wreck Cove Branch, Skills Trade/Social Studies Teacher, Fitzgerald Academy, English Harbour West; **Angela Dawe**, St. John's Centre Branch, Art/Home Economics Teacher, Brother Rice Junior High, St. John's; **Derek Drover**, Seagaulher Branch, Teaching Principal, Victoria Academy, Gaultois; **Darryl George**, Upper Trinity South Branch, Assistant Principal, Crescent Collegiate, Blaketown; **Kelly Loch**, Carbonear Branch, Instructional Resource Teacher/ Reading Specialist/Assistant Principal, Persalvic School, Victoria; **Tracey Payne**, Humber Branch, Chemistry/ Science Teacher, Corner Brook Regional High School, Corner Brook; **Colin Short**, Port aux Basques Branch, Elementary Teacher, St. James Elementary, Port aux Basques; **Sheldon Slaney**, Placentia Branch, Grade 4 Teacher, St. Anne's Academy, Dunville; **Della Way**, Belle Mer Branch, Science eTeacher, Centre for Distance Learning and Innovation (CDLI), Flower's Cove; and **Sean Weir**, Coastal Labrador South Branch. Assistant Principal/Teacher-Librarian/Multi-Grade Teacher, Bayside Academy, Port Hope Simpson.

The NLTA President and Vice-President were elected through a province-wide vote in November and December 2020. Trent Langdon (Mount Pearl) was elected as NLTA President for 2021-23. He begins his term of office on August 1, 2021. Maureen Doyle-Gillingham (Ochre Pit Cove) was elected as Vice-President.

- 30 -

For further information contact:

Jennifer Tulk, NLTA Communications, 682-3751 (cellular); jtulk@nlta.nl.ca