Print Friendly

2017-18 NLTA Scholarship Winners Announced

Six Newfoundland and Labrador students who completed high school last June have been awarded NLTA scholarships for 2017-18.

They are:
Daniel Burke (Waterford Valley High), child of Sherry Burke, St. John’s;
Caitlyn Coles (Holy Spirit High), child of Lisa Coles, Conception Bay South;
Mikayla Downey (Holy Heart of Mary High), child of Anne Downey, St. John’s;
Brooklyn Hollett (Tricentia Academy), child of Karen Hollett, Arnold’s Cove;
Lauren O’Driscoll (St. Mark’s School), child of Glen O’Driscoll, Plate Cove East; and
Jessie Reccord (Menihek High), child of Lisa Beresford-Reccord, Labrador City.

The scholarships are awarded annually to dependents of active, retired, disabled or deceased members of the NLTA and are valued at $1,000 each. Awards are based on the criteria used by the Department of Education for the selection of provincial scholarship recipients.

The deadline for receipt of scholarship applications for students enrolled in the senior high program graduating in the 2018-19 school year was July 31st.